RTE’s hit stand up series saw Ireland’s top comedians joined by a new crop of UK acts all making their Irish debuts – live or TV.

Commissioned by RTE Two in 2006, the Liffey Laugh was recorded at the packed 1500 capacity Vicar Street and featured Irish acts Jason Byrne, Ed Byrne, Andrew Maxwell, Neil Delamere, David McSavage, Deirdre O’Kane, Dermot Whelan and David O’Doherty amongst others.

The series was boosted by the emergence of new Irish talent plus the appearance of new UK stars like John Bishop (first gig ever as full time performer), Alan Carr and Rhod Gilbert who were all unknown in Ireland but now established amongst the top comedy acts around the world.